For when I’ve nothing to say

Some nights

I just don’t feel 

like words 

can come

and solve

a thing.

Like when I’m

down to

utterance

of sound

without 

much a

direction.

These are

the nights

I love you

like a bell

loves those

who listen

to its toll,

but wishes it 

could do

more than

repeat 

itself.

Wishes it

could find

a way

to make

the nights

more lively.

Even as

the ones

it loves

follow their

schedules,

listening.

 

 

Some Kind of Importance

I roll around, to and fro

often not sure where to go.

Sometimes I hop, and sometimes I fall,

but here and there I can do something pretty cool.

In much the same way I write,

I never know exactly what to do,

but I know that I like doing it,

and so I just keep on rolling.

Into the Desert

The tent began to lift me as I dreamt
Cicadas by the stream increased their shout
But nothing stopped the spiraling ascent

I struck a match before it pitched me out
The nylon pyre fell without a sound
And left me miles of moonlit sand and doubt

At first I sat, not knowing this new ground
And watched each breath incite fine grains to move
No wonder prophets came here to be found
So I began to walk, no way to refuse