Channel your History

Which caves in your mind
Have been inhabited by aliens?
And which have been proven so?

What I don’t know
Is how anything really
Arrives at its home

If I knew, I’d be on my way
To my own

A cave in your mind

And then the plan became a journey

A tire dislodged 

terribly uneven

what is centered?

      flapflapflapflapthunkthunkthunkthunk

when the key was turned

expectation said

there is rubber to meet road

       flapthunkflapthunkscreeeeeeeeeech

it was there,

it was sure

and then it wasn’t

       grrrrrrindthunkthunkthunksparkssssss

road’s shoulder greets 

cold hands on iron

and 

       …

a new silence

 

 

A Reunion

All day, the rain drips on the redbud,
but the puddles in the alley are
oil pools on rubber mud
and the finch on the window’s ledge
keeps asking why I am still here

All day, the train rocks you to
the chorus of the memorial hymn
you won’t let yourself forget,
but quickens the beat of your return

At twilight, I open the door to you,
spread arms in stuffed backpack,
and between us a pot of sunflowers
lies tipped on the porch,
flooding a space already full