Today you, tomorrow me

Cold like the river
creeps into my bed
I sleep while my brothers
are marching north instead

Oh there’s the water
washing ’round their tread
As borders grow wider
their fears are in my head

Yes
I’m the man with his house upon his back
He is thirsty
We are thirsty
And yes
I’m the woman with her kid around her neck
She is lovely
We are lovely

These hands of another
have found me caked in sand
awake from our slumber
we make the march ahead

The cries of our mother
rang across the land
we ate her dinner
with broken blistered hands

Yes
I’m the boy with the bare
blackened back
He is naked
We are naked
and yes
I’m the ones with a hope
still in the step
We are marching
we’ll keep marching. 

Leave a Reply

