outdated

I’m an old-fashioned
three-column newspaper article
the kind you can smell
or train your dog to bring to you

You can roll me up and kill spiders,
get your fireplace going
just add me to the spark of a lighter
I will keep you warm
with the affectionate and practical
intent of my writers

Spare me! from the twenty-foot radius ring
of anything resembling an LCD screen
hold me far from that ignorant death
so heartless, so cruel, so mean

Am I not convenient enough for you
tucked nicely inside the door
of your nearest grocery store?

Am I not pleasure enough to your eyes
with my carefully printed Helvetica lettering
and sunlight-safe surface?
I try.

Can a muted, battery-inspired glow
be jealous of my gentle page turned sound?
or the
finger-tip attention I share
with the spoon in the near-by cereal bowl?
I assume the young know how to envy
just as well as this outdated soul

Leave a Reply

